Library

Story Stakes: Your #1 Writing Skills Strategy to Produce a Page-Turner that Transforms Readers into Raving Fans of Your Screenplay or Novel
by H. R. D'Costa
Amazon rating
Critique Circle rating 
PublisherCreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Release Date2015-08-08 (added to CC 8 Feb)
Amazon Sales Rank463,086

Make your story a page-turner; make a living as a writer.

Wouldn’t it be great if readers stayed up all night to finish your screenplay or novel?

After such an intense emotional experience, when they’re done with your story, these readers won’t quickly forget about it and reach for another spec script or novel in their TBR pile.

Nope.

They’ll transform into raving fans who’ll tell everyone they know about your work.

That’s how you get onto Hollywood’s radar and eventually make the big spec sale. That’s how you get the word-of-mouth recommendations that propel a novel to the top of the best-seller lists.

It’s how you finally achieve your writing dreams through your creativity.

Sounds nice, right? But how do you make it happen? How do you keep readers glued to your screenplay or novel?

At first, you might use your writing skills to create a likeable hero or craft a high-concept premise. Sure, these things are important. They entice readers to give your story a chance. But they only go so far. They don’t keep readers engaged till the very end.

To accomplish this, you need something more. You need stakes.

Because of stakes, your hero can’t walk away from his problem. As a result, readers won’t be able to walk away from your story.

See, when stakes are in play, readers will be wondering if your hero will succeed or fail at his goal. Then, they worry about him. Then, they’re under tension.

To relieve this tension, they MUST stay up all night and finish your story—and when they have, they’ll rave about the amazing page-turner they couldn’t put down.

They’ll rave about you.

Master story stakes, and your screenplay or novel will stand out in a crowded marketplace. This writing skills guide will show you how. Specifically, you’ll learn about:

11 Types of Story Stakes Which Increase Tension and Reader Engagement

Some of them you already know. A few will be new. At the very least, you...


Member Reviews
This book has not been reviewed yet.
Other books on CC by the author



Member submitted content is © individual members.
Other material is ©2003-2018 critiquecircle.com
Back to top