Winter Turning (Wings of Fire, Book 7)
by Tui T. Sutherland
Amazon rating
Critique Circle rating 
PublisherScholastic Inc.
Release Date2016-12-27 (added to CC 4 Jul)
Amazon Sales Rank2,256
The New York Times and USA Today bestselling series soars to even greater heights with a new prophecy and five new dragonets ready to claim their destiny!

Daring mission... or deadly mistake?

Winter has been a disappointment to his royal IceWing family his whole life. When his sister, Icicle, runs away from Jade Mountain Academy, fleeing terrible crimes and possibly planning to commit more, Winter knows that they both need a second chance to make things right -- if only he can find her.

Winter's new clawmates, Moon, Qibli, and Kinkajou, won't let him make this dangerous journey alone. They don't seem to understand that IceWings, the most superior of all dragon tribes, can fix their own problems. When their search leads the dragonets straight into Queen Scarlet's vicious talons, Winter is grateful to have some help. But even the bravest dragons can't follow him to the Ice Kingdom, where he'll have to face the greatest threat of all: his own family.

Member Reviews
(4 Jul)
When it comes to Wings of Fire, one thing I enjoy about the series is how each book follows a different protagonist's point of view. You see the different perspectives of the dragons in an arc of five books. While there are some characters I like more than others, I can say, without a shadow of a doubt, that I genuinely like each of the characters we follow. But of all the characters in Wings of Fire, the story I enjoy the most is Winter Turning.

The story follows the perspective of an IceWing dragon, Prince Winter, as he travels with his friends (though he denies they are his friends) in order to find his older brother, whom he thought was deceased. As the journey progresses we start to understand the deep self-loathing that Winter holds for himself because of the view his parents and most of the nobility in his tribe has instilled in him. But as time passes he begins to realize he does not need to be what his tribe pushes him to be.

Outside of Winter's progression as a character, the plot of Arc 2 continues with the Jade Winglet (the main group of characters for this arc) on their journey to prevent a disaster that was hinted at in the previous book via a vision seen by Moonwatcher, the protagonist of said book. We also see what has happened to certain characters from the previous arc and how they have managed after the end of Arc 1.
Other books on CC by the author

Member submitted content is © individual members.
Other material is ©2003-2019
Back to top